Home. Live Shows. Venues. Feedback. Archives. About Us. Contact & Tickets.
Mike & The Moonpies

Plus Ags Connolly

Wednesday 5th April 2023

The Bullingdon, 162 Cowley Road, Oxford, OX4 1UE

Doors 7.30 p.m.  
Tickets £15 in advance £18 on the night.
Buy tickets . . .
Empty Room Promotions 2023 ©
In association with Sedate Booking
Due to sound check restriction the door time indicates the earliest opportunity we can give access to the venue. Live music will start 20-30 minutes after the door open time.
After recording the unfinished songs of the late, great Gary Stewart on last summer’s ‘Touch of You – The Lost Songs of Gary Stewart’, Mike and the Moonpies return with a new original album: "One to Grow On". Set for release on August 10th, it features guest appearances by Shooter Jennings and Quaker City Night Hawks.
It's been more than a decade since Mike and the Moonpies launched their career, initially paying their dues as a versatile cover band with a catalogue of 300 songs. Once celebrated as Austin's premiere dancehall band — with popular residencies at local institutions like The Hole In the Wall, Broken Spoke and the White Horse to match — the Moonpies have spent years expanding their reach far beyond the Lone Star State. Geographically, they'll always be a Texas band. Musically, they've grown into much more than that, having traded the two-steppin' twang of their earlier years for a diverse sound that's both fresh and familiar.

Their first single from the new album “Paycheck to Paycheck” is now available. This is a hard-charging blast of Texas boogie and barroom country that calls to mind the outlaw singer alluded to in the title: Johnny Paycheck.

“Paycheck’s in the tape deck and blaring on the radio,” singer Mike Harmeier howls, as the Lone Star State band roars behind him. “Tell the IRS to shove it and give me eleven twenty-nine,” a nod to Paycheck’s 1976 prison ballad “11 Months and 29 Days.” Harmeier wrote the group’s new song — destined to result in many a speeding ticket — with Moonpies bassist Omar Oyoque and the group’s long time producer Adam Odor.